Blues duo ruled out

Lautoka Football Association Interim President Shalendra Prasad. Picture: FILE/REINAL CHAND

Digicel Fiji Premier League (DFPL) leader Lautoka will miss the services of two key players for their fifth round match against Tavua at Churchill Park this Sunday.

Out of the team are star striker Saula Waqa and defender Ilimotama Jese.

Waqa is ruled out of the squad after receiving two consecutive cautions in the competition while Jese was sent off in the last game against Ba which ended in a scoreless draw.

Lautoka Football Association president Shalend Prasad said they had a lot of new faces in the team this year.

He said they also had brought in a new coach, Roneel Kumar from Ba.

“There was a two weeks break for the Tri nations FIFA International Friendlies so the side has not had much preparation as a whole unit,” Prasad said.

“We will not underestimate Tavua because they are an unknown unit with many young boys. For us the aim is to build on a good start this season and to top the DFPL competition at the end.”

Prasad said this would be their first game on home soil after Churchill Park was closed for renovations in September last year.

He has urged the fans to come out in numbers to support the team.

Sairusi Nalaubu who won the golden boot in the competition for the last three years will be the player to watch out for in the Blues team.

The DFPL will resume with five exciting matches this Sunday.

A doubleheader will be played at Uprising Sports Center in Pacific Harbour.

At 1pm, Tailevu Naitasiri will host Labasa while at 3pm Navua will face Suva FC.

At 3pm, Nadi FC will host Ba FC at Prince Charles Park, Lautoka play Tavua while Rewa will battle Nadroga at Lawaqa Park in Sigatoka.

Lautoka FC leads the DFPL points table with seven points on goal differential from Rewa.

Both teams have seven points from two wins and a draw.

Lautoka, Rewa, Ba, and Navua are the only undefeated teams in the competition.

DFPL points:

Lautoka 7, Rewa 7, Nadi 6, Ba 5, Suva 4, Navua 3, Nadroga 3, Tailevu Naitasiri 3, Tavua 1, Labasa 1.

More Stories